3 myths about labor protection and safety

мифы о технике безопасности

Myth number 1: An accident in the workplace is accidental and unpredictable.

One of the most dangerous myths. It allows the employer to deny the need to create labor protection services , to attract labor protection engineer , development of instructions for labor protection, briefings on labor protection and fire safety. The employer, instead of taking on risk management obligations in the field of labor protection, takes a step back from such responsibility. In fact, this position of the employer simply shifts the responsibility from him to his employees, who in this case must take care of their own safety. At the same time, the statistics of injuries persistently shows that at the enterprises where work on labor protection is carried out, accidents occur 80 percent less frequently.

Myth number 2: This has never happened here before, so it will not happen further.

According to statistics, the most frequent accidents occur with employees who have just started their work activities (with work experience up to 2 years ) and with employees who have been performing this work for a long time (with work experience of more than 14 years). The first type of accidents results from the fact that a young worker has not yet sufficiently studied all the requirements of labor protection at a given workplace. The second type of accidents is that the employee has too well studied the requirements of labor protection at this workplace. And what’s more, he now knows which of these requirements really work and which ones can be considered a formality. Unfortunately, the formality sometimes becomes a sad reality.

Myth number 3: We have instructions, and we even sign in magazines.

Unfortunately, at many enterprises, all the work of the labor protection service comes down to a trivial collection of signatures. It is very good if, at the same time, the workers are given to read some printouts from the Internet, which are called instructions in this enterprise, but this happens very rarely. As a result, we have three negative trends on this kind of objects.

Trend 1 – Deceptive calm.

It seems to the employer that once the signatures appear in the journals, the issue with labor protection is resolved. The fact that the issue of labor protection can extend beyond formal paper work, he does not think. And since the problem has already been solved, the very formulation of the problem – “And is everything in order with labor protection?” At this enterprise is not possible. Yes, everything is in order!

Trend 2 – Legal nihilism.

it is not for nothing that the OSH management system is called a system. All documents on labor protection , starting from the regulations, ending with instructions, programs and procedures, are related. A line of one document suggests the presence of another, and so on. As a result, all documents are a closed, autonomous legal system. Samples of documents downloaded from the Internet need serious adaptation, both for a particular company and for the current requirement of the legislation. But: “After all, we already have instructions at the enterprise, why do we need some more pieces of paper? It’s enough!”. It’s quite difficult to kill such arguments.

Tendency 3 – Illusion of action instead of the action itself.

Employees who are accustomed to simply sign every six months in boring magazines, it is already difficult to inculcate some kind of industrial culture. Each line of instructions and orders written by someone’s blood. If this is not explained at the very beginning of work, then it is difficult to convey to adults the meaning of these or those papers from the Labor Protection folder . Instead, you can often hear: “Yes, let’s sign and go.” Strange, but when you visit the doctor, none of them says: “Doctor, let us have a prescription, and I went.”

The most dangerous type of inactivity is conscious inaction, confirmed by previous favorable experience. And unfortunately, such a leader will learn only after one of his employees pays for his legal nihilism with his own health.

Вверх

3 мифа об охране труда и технике безопасности

мифы о технике безопасности

Миф № 1: Несчастный случай на рабочем месте является случайным и непредсказуемым.

Один из самых опасных мифов. Именно он позволяет работодателю отрицать необходимость создания службы охраны труда, привлечения инженера по охране труда, разработку инструкций по охране труда, проведения инструктажей по охране труда и пожарной безопасности. Работодатель вместо того, чтобы взять на себя обязательства по управлению рисками в области охраны труда, делает шаг назад от такой ответственности. На самом деле подобная позиция работодателя, просто перекладывает ответственность с него на его работников, которые должны в этом случае сами заботится о своей безопасности. При этом статистика травматизма упорно свидетельствует, что на предприятиях где проводится работа по охране труда несчастные случаи происходят на 80 процентов реже.

Миф № 2: Этого никогда не случалось здесь раньше, поэтому и дальше не произойдет.

По статистике наиболее часто несчастные случаи происходят с работниками, которые только начали свою трудовую деятельность (со стажем работы до 2-х лет) и с работниками, которые уже давно выполняют эту работу (со стажем работы более 14 лет). Первый тип несчастных случаев происходит от того, что молодой работник еще недостаточно изучил все требования охраны труда на данном рабочем месте. Второй тип несчастных случаев происходит то того, что работник слишком хорошо изучил требования охраны труда на данном рабочем месте. И более того – теперь он знает какие из этих требований действительно работают, а какие можно считать формальностью. К сожалению, формальность иногда становиться печальной реальностью.

Миф № 3: У нас есть инструкции, и мы даже расписываемся в журналах.  

К сожалению, на многих предприятиях вся работа службы охраны труда сводится к банальному сбору подписей. Очень хорошо, если при этом работникам дадут почитать какие-то распечатки из интернета, которые на данном предприятии называют инструкциями, но такое случается крайне редко. В итоге мы имеем три негативных тенденции на подобного рода объектах.

Тенденция 1 – Обманчивое спокойствие

Работодателю кажется, что раз подписи в журналах появляется, то вопрос с охраной труда решен. О том, что вопрос охраны труда может простираться дальше формальной бумажной работы он не задумывается. А так как проблема уже решена, то сама постановка задачи – «А все ли у нас в порядке с охраной труда?» на данном предприятии не возможна. Да, все у нас в порядке!  

Тенденция 2 – Правовой нигилизм

Система управления охраной труда не зря называется именно системой. Все документы по охране труда, начиная от положений, заканчивая инструкциями, программами и порядками, связаны. Строчка одного документа предполагает наличие другого и так далее. В результате все документы представляют из себя замкнутую, автономную правовую систему. Скачанные из интернета образцы документов нуждаются в серьезной адаптации, как под конкретное предприятие, так и под текущее требование законодательства. Но: «Ведь у нас на предприятии уже есть инструкции, зачем нам еще какие-то бумажки? Этого достаточно!». Перебить подобного рода аргументы довольно сложно.

Тенеденция 3 – Иллюзия действия вместо самого действия.

Сотрудникам, которые привыкли просто расписываться раз в полгода в скучных журналах, уже трудно привить какую-то производственную культуру. Каждая строчка инструкций и порядков написана чье-то кровью. Если этого не объяснили в самом начале работы, то потом сложно донести взрослым людям, смысл тех или иных бумаг из папки «Охрана труда». Вместо этого часто можно услышать: «Да давайте уже распишемся и пошли». Странно, но при визите к врачу, никто из них не говорит: «Доктор, да давайте уже рецепт, и я пошел».

Самый опасный тип бездеятельности – осознанная, подтвержденная предыдущим благоприятным опытом бездеятельность. И к сожалению, учиться такой руководитель будет, только после того, как кто-то из его сотрудников заплатит за его правовой нигилизм собственным здоровьем.